ICOM Library: Homepage: Images/Videos

Using Images- Keeping it Legal

Many medical images are protected by copyright. While the images included on this page are meant to be used for educational purposes (adding to lectures, presentations, small group learning), they still will need to be cited (in most cases). Several of the databases make this very easy by downloading all the copyright/citation information with the image. If you have questions about how to properly use/cite an image or video, feel free to contact the library.

CC Zero Images

If you really don't want to worry about citing images, look for CC0 (zero) images. These images use a Creative Commons license which does not require attribution. There aren't a lot of medical-specific images with this license, but it's always worth a search.

Images/Videos

Images

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
To find images in AccessMedicine, run a search and then select the 'Images' limiter. These can be saved and/or downloaded directly to PPTs/Keynote slides.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey has over 3 million images pulled from textbooks and articles which can be downloaded and used for teaching and presentations. To find images, run a search, and then select 'Images' under the Source Type limiter. Images can be saved to a tool called presentation maker and then exported directly to PPT. You will need to register for a free ClinicalKey account to save and export images.
Thieme E-Book Library (MedOne Education) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of images pulled from the books included in this collection. Run a search, and then limit to 'Media'. Images can be printed, saved as a PDF, or added directly to a presentation slide.
Thieme Teaching Assistant - Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Features over 2,000 illustrations and images from Gilroy's Atlas of Anatomy plus other prominent anatomy textbooks. The images can be used by faculty in lectures and students can use the self-study tools for review and self-assessment.

Videos

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
To find videos, select the "Multimedia' dropdown and then you can browse videos by category/system.
Bates' Visual Guide to Visual Examination with OSCEs This link opens in a new window
A complement to the classic Bates text, this resource provides hours of videos demonstrating systems-based physical examination. It also includes OSCE videos which allow you to test your clinical reasoning by watching a clinical encounter and then developing your own assessment.
ClinicalKey- Procedures Consult This link opens in a new window
This resource provides over 300 high quality videos which enable physicians, residents and medical students to more confidently perform common medical procedures.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
This resource includes over 300 rotational videos of anatomical structures of embalmed cadavers. Register for a free account to access and use the self-testing features.

These images are freely available, but most still need to be cited.

MedPix
MedPix is a National Library of Medicine resource which includes 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images
Public Health Image Library
Contains photos, images, and videos. ncludes electron micrographic imagery and images associated with influenza, bioterrorism, natural disasters and environmental health.
Open-I
Use Open-I to locate abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature and biomedical image collections. It provides access to almost 2 million images from PubMedCentral articles as well as thousands of chest x-rays and radiology reports.
Health Education Assets Library
The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education.
Image Gallery- National Institutes of Health
The Flickr album for the NIH includes albums in categories such as scientific images, clinical research, infographics, cancer research, and more.
National Cancer Institute- Visuals Online
he collection spans everything from biomedical, science, and patient-care related illustrations and images to portraits of present and past directors and the staff of the National Cancer Institute. Visuals Online currently provides public access to nearly 4,000 images.
Bio-Image Search (Stanford)
Type your search term(s) into the search box, and limit to 'Images'. This tool searches many public image databases and lists the results in terms of re-use rights.

Goldminer
Over 200,000 radiological images published in selected, peer-reviewed journals. You can search by anatomy, imaging technique, patient age and gender.
CTisus
This site hosts over 150,000 CT images that viewers can use to test their diagnostic skills. Images can be browsed by body system.
Radiopaedia
A free educational radiology resource with one of the web's largest collections of radiology cases and reference articles. Images can be found within the cases
Radiology Education
A digital library of radiology education resource including images.
Yottalook
A free medical imaging search engine. You can focus your search to only retrieve images, journal articles, or book results.
MyPACS.net
Includes over 30,000 cases and over 200,000 images. Can limit search by pathology, modality, age, or gender.
MedPix
MedPix is a National Library of Medicine resource which includes 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images

Google is where almost everyone goes to find images already, but in many cases, those images are not being used in a way that is compliant with copyright laws. We don't want that! Thankfully, Google Images makes searching for and selecting images which have Creative Commons licenses. This means that the content is free to use with the common requirement that you cite the image creator and/or use it for non-commercial purposes.

1. Go to Google Images

2. Search for what you need:

3. Click on the 'Tools' link:

4. Click on the 'Usage Rights' drop-down and select any of the options which start with 'Labeled with..'. The last option, 'Labeled for non-commercial reuse' tends to have the most options:

5. Go directly to the image source (usually Wikimedia Commons or Flickr). Download the size of the image you need and remember to cite the source!