ICOM Library: About the Library: Other Resources

Videos

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination with OSCEs This link opens in a new window
A complement to the classic Bates text, this resource provides hours of videos demonstrating systems-based physical examination. It also includes OSCE videos which allow you to test your clinical reasoning by watching a clinical encounter and then developing your own assessment.
Draw it to Know it This link opens in a new window
Draw it to Know it teaches students to learn medical sciences in a kinesthetic way with a series of online, interactive tutorials. It also allows instructors to create and share custom study plans.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
This resource includes over 300 rotational videos of anatomical structures of embalmed cadavers. Register for a free account to access and use the self-testing features.
ClinicalKey- Procedures Consult This link opens in a new window
This resource provides over 300 high quality videos which enable physicians, residents and medical students to more confidently perform common medical procedures.

Images

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 1,200 full-text e-books, 600 full-text journals, over a million images, hundreds of videos, drug information, patient education, and more.
Thieme Teaching Assistant - Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Features over 2,000 illustrations and images from Gilroy's Atlas of Anatomy plus other prominent anatomy textbooks. The images can be used by faculty in lectures and students can use the self-study tools for review and self-assessment

Using Images- Keeping it Legal

Many medical images are protected by copyright. While the images included on this page are meant to be used for educational purposes (adding to lectures, presentations, small group learning), they still will need to be cited (in most cases). Several of the databases make this very easy by downloading all the copyright/citation information with the image. If you have questions about how to properly use/cite an image or video, feel free to contact the library.